Cannibal Story

I posted this on Facebook last night, as I can’t quite seem to get the embed code to work properly here on the blog.  But it’s too good not to find a way to share, so if you click on the image below, you’ll be taken to the ABC Arts page where you can watch this amazing video from Martumili Artists’ new project We Don’t Need a Map.

Two years ago, I wrote about Billy Atkins and his stories of the cannibal people who live under Kumpupirntily (Lake Disappointment).  But nothing in the catalog of Atkins’ work really prepared me for the likes of the scary animated video.  Watching the cannibals metamorphose into trees is an absolutely chilling vision that made me go back to the paintings with a profound new appreciation.  Thanks to John Carty for turning me on to this amazing experience.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

