5ive Years in Reverse

Yesterday marked the fifth anniversary of the first post in this blog.  This note is, cumulatively, the 428th: not a bad run.  As I scanned back through time (in reverse chronological order, of course) I found myself becoming more and more certain of what I have to say, more convinced of my opinions, less nuanced in my interpretations.  I guess that overall that’s not a bad thing.

That first post was largely concerned with what I thought to be the most important book on Aboriginal art written by that time, Fred Myers’ Painting Culture: the making of an Aboriginal high art (Duke University Press, 2003).

Tomorrow’s post will be a fitting anniversary bookend, a look at a monograph that rivals Myers’ achievement in an exploration of a very similar subject: Vivien Johnson’s brilliant new book, Once Upon a Time in Papunya (University of New South Wales Press, 2010).

Once again, my sincere thanks to those who have made this journey with me, inspired me, tipped me off to interesting topics, debated with me.  It’s been a pleasure.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

