Modern Masters

I’m busy this weekend preparing a slide show and lecture on Aboriginal art for an honors class in art history at the local high school this coming Monday morning: will wonders never cease?

While doing some image-surfing, I came across the following photograph from the Tinguely Museum in Basel, where John Mawurndjul’s solo retrospective opened in 2005. If I wanted a simple way to convey to these young students that what I’ll be talking to them about is truly “modern” art, and not the artifacts of a primitive culture, I don’t know that I could speak a thousand words to the effect of this picture.


Photo by Chips Mackinolty

This entry was posted in Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

