Two Laws

Among the many wonderful works of art in the Darwin Supreme Court is a mosaic of Yiwirra, the Milky Way Dreaming, by the Warlpiri artist Norah Napaljarri that occupies the central area of the main foyer. It is best viewed from the balcony on the fourth floor of the building, so I rode the elevator up with my camera to take a photo. As I pressed the shutter, I saw with dismay a figure walk into the frame. But a moment later my dismay turned to delight as I realized that I had caught one of the Court’s denizens crossing the mosaic, a perfect illustration of the Two Laws that indigenous people live with these days.
Two Laws 
(The green and purple highlights are reflections of the lights in the ceiling above and not part of the mosaic’s design.)
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

